h1

More Hidden Gems

May 31, 2012

Man…I really need to update this more often.  I have people asking me all the time about the places I have gone, and I have just done a terrible job of keeping this blog updated.  So, here’s my feeble attempt to fill you in on some great spots I’ve been the past few months.

Barker’s Red HotsMarietta, GA – This place began back in the early 1980’s as a hot dog vendor in Atlanta, and has grown in popularity so much that they opened up a couple locations in the suburbs.  They cook their own brand of bun-length red hot hot dogs over charcoal, and have their own signature hot sauce that many of their fans prefer as the condiment of choice.  I ate mine “signature style” with hot sauce, onions, two pickles, and yellow mustard.  I also had a small side of slaw, which gave it that extra crunchiness.  Baked beans were also very good, with just the right amount of sweetness.  I’d definitely go back, especially for the $5.60 I spent. A

Nuevo Laredo – Atlanta, GA – Amy and I went here back when it was winter time on a Friday night.  We actually arrived right at 6 p.m. before going to a show downtown, and by 6:30 p.m., hundreds of people were waiting outside to be seated.  The restaurant is rather interesting, as it is located in what the owners call a “campy, off-the-beaten path” area off Chattahoochee Avenue.  It looks rather small from the outside, but actually has quite a bit of seating.  I ordered the Tampiqueña Steak and loved it.  The menu describes this dish as a famous lean, trimmed beef steak marinated, charbroiled and served with beans,cheese enchilada, hot tortillas y pico de gallo.  I cannot recall what Amy had, but it was outstanding as well. We also ordered their highly-recommended cheese dip, and loved it…but it’s enough for 6-8 people – way too much for 2 people! B+

Southern Soul BBQ – St. Simons Island, GA – This place was featured on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives last year, and now I know why!  What a cool joint!  You order inside at the counter, and you have the choice to sit inside, or to dine at one of the large picnic tables outside. I ordered the items that Guy Fieri tasted when he came, and was not disappointed.  I got the Brunswick Stew and a half-slab of ribs.  It was heaven!  The ribs were the best I have ever had I believe.  The ribs are drizzled with honey several times in the cooking process, which makes them sweet and a tad crunchy on the outside. So yummy! The BBQ pork was also very good, but I’d give the edge to the ribs.  BBQ beans were also solid.  Gotta hit this place again!  A+

Swheat Market Deli – Cartersville, GA – Located in an old warehouse building just across the railroad tracks in downtown Cartersville, Swheat Market is a special treat.  It is family owned, and boasts some of the most amazing sandwiches you will ever find.  I have been twice, and eat time had the Chicken Salad Melt on sourdough, and topped with Havarti cheese.  Amy got the Cuban, and it was also fantastic.  They also serve homemade side items, such as cucumber salad, pasta salad, hand-cut sweet potato fries, and Asian Cole slaw. I wanted to order their famous Peppered Bacon BLT last time, but they had just run out of bacon.  I look forward to visiting again soon!  A

Willy’s Wee-Nee Wagon – Brunswick, GA – Located in the heart of Brunswick near the College of Coastal Georgia sits the quintessential dive.  It’s a rather dilapidated, yet colorful shack called Willy’s Wee-Nee Wagon.  It was a rainy and chilly April afternoon when we went to Willy’s, but it was still busy.  Willy’s has the “Internationally Acclaimed Pork Chop Sandwich,” and offers a $2,000 reward to anyone who can find one better.  So, Amy and I had to share one of those.  We also each had a hot dog.  Both were extremely tasty.  After we ate, we found out the “World Famous Willy Burger,” so we’ll have to try that next time.  This is truly an experience, and I had to buy the t-shirt to show the world I had been there.  The shirt has a picture of a hot dog with the moniker, “We relish your bun.” Classic.  A+

Leave a comment